GSECARS Directory

Leadership

Mark Rivers

Mark Rivers

Co-Director GSECARS

Beamline Scientist
University of Chicago Research Professor
Tomography
rivers@cars.uchicago.edu

Steve Sutton

Steve Sutton

Co-Director GSECARS

Beamline Scientist
University of Chicago Research Professor
Microprobe
(630) 484-5920
sutton@cars.uchicago.edu

Staff

Stella Chariton

Stella Chariton

Beamline Scientist

Diamond Anvil Cell
chariton@cars.uchicago.edu

Pasquale (Lino) DiDonna

Pasquale (Lino) DiDonna

Electronics Engineer

Peter Eng

Peter Eng

Executive Director, Center for Advanced Radiation Sources (C.A.R.S.)

Beamline Scientist
University of Chicago Research Professor
Interface / Surface Studies and Powder Diffraction
(630) 252-0424
eng@cars.uchicago.edu

Tony Lanzirotti

Tony Lanzirotti

Beamline Scientist

University of Chicago Research Professor
Microprobe
lanzirotti@uchicago.edu

Barbara Lavina

Barbara Lavina

Beamline Scientist

Joint Appointment, GSECARS, Sector 13 and XSD, Sector 3
(630) 252-4675
lavina@uchicago.edu

Nancy Lazarz

Nancy Lazarz

Sector Coordinator

(630) 252-0423
lazarz@cars.uchicago.edu

Matt Newville

Matt Newville

Beamline Scientist

University of Chicago Research Professor
X-ray Absorption Fine Structure (XAFS)
Microprobe
(630) 327-7411
newville@cars.uchicago.edu

Phuong Nguyen

Phuong Nguyen

Beamline Scientist

Diamond Anvil Cell (DAC) Program
13 BMC Supported by COMPRES PX^2 Project, 100%
nguyenph@hawaii.edu

Tim Officer

Tim Officer

Postdoctoral Scholar

Multi-anvil Press
officer@cars.uchicago.edu

Vitali Prakapenka

Vitali Prakapenka

Beamline Scientist

University of Chicago Research Professor
High Pressure / High Temperature Diamond Anvil Cell (DAC)
(630) 252-0439
prakapenka@cars.uchicago.edu

Mike Proskey

Mike Proskey

Beamline Engineer

Young Jay Ryu

Young Jay Ryu

Beamline Scientist

Diamond Anvil Cell, 13 BMD
Large Volume Press (LVP)
ryu@cars.uchicago.edu

Christofanis Skordas

Christofanis Skordas

Software Developer

Charlie Smith

Charlie Smith

Senior Systems Administrator

Malcolm Spears

Malcolm Spears

Mechanical Technician

Joanne Stubbs

Joanne Stubbs

Beamline Scientist

University of Chicago Research Associate Professor
Interface / Surface Studies and Powder Diffraction
(630) 252-0427
stubbs@cars.uchicago.edu

Yanbin Wang

Yanbin Wang

Beamline Scientist

University of Chicago Research Professor
Large Volume Press (LVP)
wang@cars.uchicago.edu

Anna Wanhala

Anna Wanhala

Postdoctoral Scholar

Man Xu

Man Xu

Postdoctoral Scholar

Multi-anvil Press
mxu@cars.uchicago.edu

Tony Yu

Tony Yu

Beamline Scientist

Large Volume Press (LVP)
tyu@cars.uchicago.edu

Dongzhou Zhang

Dongzhou Zhang

Beamline Scientist

Diamond Anvil Cell (DAC) Program
13 BMC Supported by COMPRES PX^2 Project, 100%
dzhang@hawaii.edu