GSECARS Directory

Leadership

Mark Rivers

Mark Rivers

Director, Center for Advanced Radiation Sources (CARS)

Co-Director GSECARS
Beamline Scientist
University of Chicago Research Professor
Tomography
(630) 252-0422
rivers@cars.uchicago.edu

Steve Sutton

Steve Sutton

Co-Director GSECARS

Beamline Scientist
University of Chicago Research Professor
Microprobe
(630) 252-0426
sutton@cars.uchicago.edu

Staff

Stella Chariton

Stella Chariton

Postdoctoral Scholar

Diamond Anvil Cell
(630) 252-0432
chariton@cars.uchicago.edu

Pasquale (Lino) DiDonna

Pasquale (Lino) DiDonna

Electronics Engineer

Peter Eng

Peter Eng

Beamline Scientist

University of Chicago Research Professor
Interface / Surface Studies and Powder Diffraction
(630) 252-0424
eng@cars.uchicago.edu

Tony Lanzirotti

Tony Lanzirotti

Beamline Scientist

University of Chicago Research Associate Professor
Microprobe
(630) 252-0433
lanzirotti@uchicago.edu

Nancy Lazarz

Nancy Lazarz

Sector Coordinator

(630) 252-0423
lazarz@cars.uchicago.edu

Guy Macha

Guy Macha

CARS Vacuum Specialist

User Support Specialist
Safety Officer
(630) 252-0448
macha@cars.uchicago.edu

Matt Newville

Matt Newville

Beamline Scientist

University of Chicago Research Associate Professor
X-ray Absorption Fine Structure (XAFS)
Microprobe
(630) 252-0431
newville@cars.uchicago.edu

Tim Officer

Tim Officer

Postdoctoral Scholar

Multi-anvil Press
officer@cars.uchicago.edu

Vitali Prakapenka

Vitali Prakapenka

Beamline Scientist

University of Chicago Research Professor
High Pressure / High Temperature Diamond Anvil Cell (DAC)
(630) 252-0439
prakapenka@cars.uchicago.edu

Mike Proskey

Mike Proskey

Beamline Engineer

Young Jay Ryu

Young Jay Ryu

Postdoctoral Scholar

Large Volume Press (LVP)
(630) 252-0441
ryu@cars.uchicago.edu

Christofanis Skordas

Christofanis Skordas

Software Developer

Malcolm Spears

Malcolm Spears

Mechanical Technician

(630) 252-0428
spears@cars.uchicago.edu

Joanne Stubbs

Joanne Stubbs

Beamline Scientist

University of Chicago Research Associate Professor
Interface / Surface Studies and Powder Diffraction
(630) 252-0427
stubbs@cars.uchicago.edu

Sergey Tkachev

Sergey Tkachev

Beamline Scientist

High Pressure / High Temperature Diamond Anvil Cell (DAC)
GSECARS / COMPRES Gas Loading System Supported by COMPRES Gas Loading Project, 50%.
(630) 252-0430
tkachev@cars.uchicago.edu

Yanbin Wang

Yanbin Wang

Beamline Scientist

University of Chicago Research Professor
Large Volume Press (LVP)
(630) 252-0425
wang@cars.uchicago.edu

Anna Wanhala

Anna Wanhala

Postdoctoral Scholar

Jingui Xu

Jingui Xu

Beamline Scientist

Diamond Anvil Cell (DAC) Program
13 BMC Supported by COMPRES PX^2 Project, 100%.
(630) 252-0438
xu@cars.uchicago.edu

Man Xu

Man Xu

Postdoctoral Scholar

Multi-anvil Press
mxu@cars.uchicago.edu

Tony Yu

Tony Yu

Beamline Scientist

Large Volume Press (LVP)
(630) 252-6148
tyu@cars.uchicago.edu

Dongzhou Zhang

Dongzhou Zhang

Beamline Scientist

Diamond Anvil Cell (DAC) Program
13 BMC Supported by COMPRES PX^2 Project, 100%
(630) 252-0444
dzzhang@cars.uchicago.edu