Registration to the workshop is now open and the deadline is on 10th of November 2022.

In-person workshop attendees are required to pay a $150 USD registration. The workshop will cover the icebreaker party on the 5th December, coffee breaks and lunch. An additional charge of $25 USD fee will apply for those who wish to join in-person the Hand’s On Tutorial on Saturday, December 10. Coffee breaks and lunch will be included. Remote workshop participants will be charged a $50 USD registration fee, which will support the hybrid character of the event. If you are sponsoring this event, you will not need to pay registration fees.

Registration is now closed.

IUCr Young and Early Career Scientists Awards

The Organizing Committee of the 2022 IUCr HP workshop will offer a limited number of awards that will cover the accomodation costs.

The awards are intended for scientists who have graduate student, postdoctoral, or early career (untenured) faculty appointments. The applications will be considered in the order they were submitted. The 2022 Organizing Committee will oversee the application review and award selection.

To apply for the Early-Career Scientist Award, please submit the following by email to Stella Chariton (stellachariton@uchicago.edu):

  • A short biography for publication on the workshop website (100 words or less + photo)
  • A current CV, including a permanent address (in PDF format)
  • A short letter that justifies the need of an award

All applications must be submitted before 1st of November 2022.

The results of those who will be granted the award will be announced by 2nd of November 2022. Please do not try to register to the meeting until the above deadline. For more information contact the meeting organizers.

Workshop Contacts


Vitali Prakapenka

Research Professor
Center for Advanced Radiation Sources
The University of Chicago

Stella Chariton

Beamline Scientist
Center for Advanced Radiation Sources
The University of Chicago

Workshop Organizers


  • Vitali Prakapenka (GSECARS/Univ. Chicago)
  • Stella Chariton (GSECARS/Univ. Chicago)
  • Dongzhou Zhang (Univ. Hawaii/GSECARS)
  • Yanbin Wang (GSECARS/Univ. Chicago)