Beamlines at Sector 13

Beamline 13 IDC

13 IDC is an insertion device beamline specialized for earth and environmental science research.

Supported Techniques:   
Inelastic X-ray Scattering
Surface Studies 
Microcrystallography 
Peter Eng, eng@cars.uchicago.edu, 630.252.0424
Joanne Stubbs, stubbs@cars.uchicago.edu,  630.252.0427

Click for additional beamline specifications.

APS Beamline Directory Entry for 13 ID C/D.

Slideshow

13 IDC General Diffractometer
13 IDC General Diffractometer
13 IDC Control Area
13 IDC Control Area
13 IDC General Diffractometer
13 IDC General Diffractometer

Beamline 13 IDD

13 IDD is an insertion device beamline specialized for earth and environmental science research.

Support Techniques :
High Pressure / High Temperature Diamond Anvil Cell (DAC)
Vitali Prakapenka, prakapenka@cars.uchicago.edu, 630.252.0439
Multi-anvil Press (LVP)
Yanbin Wang, wang@cars.uchicago.edu, 630.252.0425

Click for additional beamline specifications.

APS Beamline Directory Entry for 13 ID C/D.

Slideshow

13 IDD Diamond Anvil Cell
13 IDD Diamond Anvil Cell
13 IDD 1000 ton Multi-anvil Press (LVP)
13 IDD 1000 ton Multi-anvil Press (LVP)

Beamline 13 IDE

13 IDE is an insertion device beamline specialized for earth and environmental science research.

Supported Techniques:
X-ray Absorption Fine Structure (XAFS)
Micro fluorescence
Micro spectroscopy
Micro diffraction
Fluorescence Microtomography
Matt Newville, newville@cars.uchicago.edu, 630.252.0431
Tony Lanzirotti, lanzirotti@uchicago.edu, 630.252.0433
Steve Sutton, sutton@cars.uchicago.edu, 630.252.0426

Click for additional beamline specifications.

APS Beamline Directory Entry for 13 IDE.

13 IDE XAFS Setup
13 IDE XAFS Setup

Beamline 13 BMC

13 BMC is a bending magnet beamline specialized for earth and environmental science research.

Supported Techniques :
Surface Diffraction
● Peter Eng, eng@cars.uchicago.edu, 630.252.0424
● Joanne Stubbs, stubbs@cars.uchicago.edu, 630.252.0427
High Pressure Diamond Anvil Cell
● Vitali Prakapenka, prakapenka@cars.uchicago.edu, 630.252.0439
Single Crystal Diffraction
● Przemek Dera, dera@cars.uchicago.edu, 630.252.0419

Click for additional beamline specifications.

APS Beamine Directory Entry for 13 BMC.

Slideshow

13 BMC
13 BMC
13 BMC Newport diffractometer
13 BMC Newport diffractometer
13 BMC control area
13 BMC control area
Beam defining assembly and Pilatus detector
Beam defining assembly and Pilatus detector
13 BMC control area
13 BMC control area

Beamline 13 BMD

13 BMD is a bending magnet beamline specialized for earth and environmental science.

Supported Techniques :
Tomography (CMT)
● Mark Rivers, rivers@cars.uchicago.edu, 630.252.0422
High Pressure Diamond Anvil Cell (DAC)
● Vitali Prakapenka, prakapenka@cars.uchicago.edu, 630.252.0439
Multi-anvil Press (LVP)
● Yanbin Wang, wang@cars.uchicago.edu, 630.252.0425
X-ray absorption fine structure                                                                  ● Matt Newville, newville@cars.uchicago.edu, 630.252.0431
● Tony Lanzirotti, lanzirotti@uchicago.edu, 630.252.0433                               

Click here for additional beamline specifications.

APS Beamline Directory Entry for 13 BMD.

Slideshow

13 BMD tomography setup
13 BMD tomography setup
13 BMD control area
13 BMD control area
13 BMD 250 ton large volume press
13 BMD 250 ton large volume press